CHC 150 Anniversary Dinner

10 Jul 2024

On Friday 5th July, the Commissioners held a 150th Anniversary Dinner at The Box.

With welcome drinks provided by Plymouth Gin, a rousing call to dinner by the Royal Marine drummers and the city’s town crier, John Pitt, keeping us all to time; and with past and present team members, Commissioners and industry friends and colleagues in attendance the evening was the perfect way to mark our anniversary – 150 years after being constituted within The Pier and Harbour Orders Confirmation Act, 1874, cited as ‘The Cattewater Harbour Order, 1874’.

Special thanks must go to Richard Ballantyne OBE, Chief Executive at British Ports Association, who was our after-dinner speaker and Matthew Morris FRICS FAAV, Rural Director of The Duchy of Cornwall, who not only presented team member Emma Maunder with The Workboat Association’s John Percival Memorial Award for Best Industry Trainee but also read out a message from HRH The Prince of Wales, congratulating us on our 150 years.